Cannabis Law: Identification Requirements in Mississippi
The Mississippi Department of Health has not yet released regulations regarding identification cards for medical marijuana. They have, however, provided an outline for what the regulations might include.
The MSDH outline looks at the types of medical marijuana identification cards and the associated fees. This includes patient cards, caregiver cards and physician cards. Each of these specific cards will likely cost $50, unless the patient or caregiver qualifies for SNAP, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families or the WIC program. In those cases, the card’s cost will be reduced to $25.
Validity and renewal
It is also likely that the identification cards will be valid for one year (or another physician-designated time period) after the application criteria is met.
The MSDH outline states that a patient application will likely require:
- Legal name and any aliases
- Date of birth
- Physical address
- Telephone number
- Email address
- Photograph (Mississippi driver’s license or another state-issued photo ID)
- Physician certification
- Application fee
- Parental/legal guardian consent form for minors (under age 18)
Caregivers will likely be defined as those who assist qualified patients with their use of medical marijuana. This may include employees of hospice facilities, hospitals, assisted living programs or IDF/IDD programs.
Physicians must also obtain an identification card. The requirements for a physician application will likely include:
- Evidence of an unrestricted medical license in Mississippi
- Physical address of the physician’s practice
- Evidence of completed CME requirements
- Authorization for the MSDH to communicate with the Board of Medical Licensure
- Disclosure of relationships/interest to any licensed entities
A physician will likely only be able to give a certification after a face-to-face patient visit. It’s also likely that the certification can only be issued for 12 months (or fewer). Moreover, it is likely that physicians will be required to take CME classes and will only be able to certify for conditions within their specialty.
For more information on identification for medical marijuana in Mississippi, click here.